Make Do Monday – Cutting out the Blitz dress

Hello Monday makers! Have you seen that tickets for the Dig for Victory Show 2016 are officially on sale on the website!? Today I’m making a start at sewing myself a dress using the Blitz dress pattern from Sew La Di Da Vintage, a dress you might see me wearing at the show!

photo 1

I’ve traced off the Blitz dress pattern in my size onto some pattern paper and chosen my fabric. I followed the layout plan on the first two pages to make sure to save fabric when cutting out. There is a note on the back of the pattern reminding you that if you are using a one way printed fabric or one with pile (velvet or corduroy) you might need more fabric than suggested as you have to make sure all of your pieces are going in the same direction.

photo 1-1

The fabric that I’ve chosen to work with is this light green cotton with a floral print which I bought in a charity shop.

photo 2

Apart from the pattern pieces in sizes UK 6-8, you also have this booklet with instructions on how to get started and photos of how to sew your dress.

photo 3

On the first page you’ve got measurements and a cutting lay out.

photo 4

After having cut out all of my pieces I am now onto step 1! Come back next week to see how the dress turned out!

Have you got any sewing projects on the go?

2 thoughts on “Make Do Monday – Cutting out the Blitz dress

  1. Pingback: Make Do Monday – The finished Blitz dress | Dig For Victory Show

Leave a Reply

